Our Favourite Murder Mysteries

We LOVE reading murder mysteries (we already have a whole reviews section on them!!) but here are a few more of our favourites



The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas

All 5 cheerleaders in the town of Sunnybrook died. Monica’s sister was the last to go. That was 5 years ago. Now her world is starting to unravel. When she finds letters in her stepdad’s office, she starts to question everything she has been told. Whatever happened 5 years ago isn’t over. Monica is not safe, not anymore.


‘I loved this book. The plot twists were amazingly orchestrated and the end was such a surprise!’




5 Little Liars by Amanda K. Morgan

A teacher is dead. 5 children were there when it happened. They must learn to keep quiet and trust each other. But something almost always goes wrong. Will they get out of this together? Or will one of them be in prison for murder?


‘A thrilling high school murder book, perfect for fans of Chelsea Pitcher or Karen McManus. I loved this book because it was so different to all the others, in a sense that it’s still murder but there are so many other elemnts to it too.’




One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

6 students at Bayview High are in detention: Bronwyn, Addy, Nate, Cooper. Oh, and Simon, the creator of a gossip app that knows EVERYONE’s secrets.

Only, Simon never makes it out alive. Before the end of detention, he’s dead. And, the day after, he was planning to post his detention buddy’s biggest secrets. All of them have the perfect motive. How far would any of them go to protect their secrets?


‘I loved this book! It was exciting and fast-paced from the very first chapter. The plot is excellently put together with all the little details that make it so compelling.’




Lies like poison by Chelsea Pitcher

When Poppy, Lily and Belladonna find out that their friend Raven is suffering at the hands of his stepmother, they come up with a plan. One petal of poppy, one petal of lily, and one petal of belladonna - all of which are poisonous - in her tea. But one of them had second thoughts and the plan faded into nothing, just like their friendship. Three years later, Raven’s stepmother turns up dead, with a petal of belladonna floating in her tea. Bella is carted off to jail, but when she calls on her estranged friends to help her prove her innocence, no-one is prepared for what happens next.


‘This book was the perfect electrifying thriller that I couldn’t put down. I devoured it in one sitting.’




The Cousins by Karen M. McManus

Cousins Milly, Aubrey and Jonah Story hardly know each other and they’ve never even met their grandmother. She disowned all her children and when the 3 get a letter inviting them to work on her island resort for the summer, they’re VERY surprised. But not going isn’t an option. This could finally get them back into Grandma’s good books! But as the summer goes on, it becomes clear that this island is not what it seems. Everyone in the Story family has secrets, but this summer the cousins will uncover all of them.


‘I never expected the sympathy or fear I would feel for the characters in some situations. I loved this book, and honestly think it is as amazing as Karen McManus’ other books.’




Hope you enjoyed these, comment if you've read any other murder mysteries you loved!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All